Berlin has two main airports: Tegel airport and Schonefeld airport. A third airport, Berlin Brandenburg airport, is scheduled to open in Berlin in 2016. Below is information about each of the airports in Berlin.

Berlin Tegel Airport (airport code: TXL)
Berlin Tegel airport is the largest airport in Berlin. It is where most major airlines fly into the city.

Located just 5 miles (8 km) from Berlin, Tegel airport is convenient to get to and is served by public transportation.

Tegel will close in 2016 to make way for the new Berlin Brandenburg airport.

Berlin Schonefeld Airport (airport code: SXF)
Berlin Schonefeld airport is the former East Berlin airport. Schonefeld airport serves mostly charter flights to Berlin, as well as flights on some low-cost carriers.

This airport will be merged into the new Berlin Brandenburg Airport, which will serve both Berlin and the surrounding state of Brandenburg.

Berlin Tempelhof Airport (airport code: THF)
Berlin Tempelhof airport was the smallest airport in Berlin before it closed in 2008.